The songbird


The bird begins to call

urgency in every note

entering me through the closed windows

through the key holes of locked doors

taking me away from the present chaos

fading my protests into silence

forcing me to run out and see

if the gate has somehow opened

I leave the shelves undusted

forget about the bubbling broth in the pan

Pushing obstacles out of my way

pulling off the noose round my neck

that claims to make decorum stay

freeing myself from every snare

that causes the least delay

I run and run as a frenzy takes hold

when out I pant and catch my breath

the gate is still locked

and I hear the bird

now sing from within my heart.

©Reena Prasad
Published in ‘I am a poet’ Xpresspublications (2013)

Leave a Reply

