Heat loss


 

Cold shivers and foggy mornings,
creep into my warm home.
Tiny crevices between shuttered windows turn traitor,
letting winter roam.
Arresting my buoyant dreams
like snow flakes on a rising dough.

All the warmth of night’s embrace,
now lost to the icy draught.
Like a warm cover pulled away
turning my toes into wintery slots.
A cool current in a summery sea,
A vacant imprint lies next to me.

Hugging at the still warm pillow,
snuggling into a familiar scent
I try to hold on to his heat ,
to prolong awhile the cosy spell
The shirt at the foot of the bed,
now covers me as well.
  ©Reena Prasad

Your thoughts matter to me! Leave them here

