True beauty


 

True beauty

To be gifted with a human birth here
we have passed through several quests.
To feel the heavens rain on us
And yet feel warmly blessed 

Hiding from nature, can you  call it living
Slathered in creams, merely existing
The blow-dried crown, a flimsy attire
 pallor that would shame a thirsty vampire 

Cannot bear suffocation, smothered
by sun blocks, crouching under umbrellas
lines on my face reveal summer’s caress
 I am an earthy Cinderella 

Give me the warmth of sunlit days
the nippy wind on cool, moonlit nights.
Salt tinged spray from ocean’s somber gray
monsoon’s muddy delights 

Don’t iron out the creases or my wrinkles rife
Testimonials to a nature-imprinted life
Utterly wasted is a raindrop that is buried a virgin
for the soul always has naturally beautiful skin
©Reena Prasad

35 thoughts on “True beauty

  1. //Give me the warmth of sunlit days,
    the nippy wind on cool, moonlit nights.
    Salt tinged spray from oceans somber gray
    and monsoon’s muddy delights.//
    I adored these lines… absolutely beautiful… rich in imagery
    brilliant write.

    Thursday Rally

    Like

  2. Thank you @Sam, I believe that at least some
    of us can still appreciate inner beauty.
    Thanks @ Jingle, for your appreciation.
    @Rhyme me a smile–glad you enjoyed it!
    @Rajlakshmi–I am overwelmed by your lovely praise.
    @seabell–hey ,thanks friend.

    Like

  3. Don’t iron out the creases or my wrinkles rife.
    Testimonials to a nature-imprinted life.
    Utterly wasted is a raindrop that is buried a virgin,
    for the soul always has, naturally beautiful skin.

    So beautiful!!! 🙂

    Like

  4. The wrinkles I have and the graying hair,
    I worked hard for them and glad they’re there.
    Thanks for a beautiful poem, written by someone who’s beautiful on both the inside and outside. Butterflies are always beautiful.

    Like

  5. The concluding lines says it all. Agree with it totally and yet I still succumb to silliness sometimes. While my hair is turning white and I got to like it after the initial tremors , I still did apply sunscreen when I went trekking recently:-). Ah..our vanities!!!It takes us so long to realise that when somebody like you, those affections are never based on the way you look. Enjoyed this reflective poem:-)

    Like

  6. Thank you Nadira , Your writings lay bare the true,inner beauty -we may never meet but our minds somehow have kindred thoughts. I keep coming back to read more because of the beauty I find in your soul.
    Glad you enjoyed the read, I hope to have atleast a fraction of your beauty when I reach your age for i do believe that beauty increases proportionately with age.

    Like

Your thoughts matter to me! Leave them here

