The vanishing flower


Image Source Page: http://www.artdevon.com/artists/susan_elizabeth_ash

The vanishing flower

Ruby red, her petals spread,
She blooms alone in the virgin glade
Five tongue -shaped beauties come alive
to protect the glittery dust inside.

 

Yesterday too, I passed this way,
No leaf moved, no wind blew.
The grassy dell lay mischievously still
hiding in their blades this elusive jewel.

 

Kissed by butterflies with kohl-rimmed eyes,
she stops my tracks as I stray
into these woods for a breath of life
Charming my soul with her divine play.

 

Her stem stood proudly upright
holding aloft the ruby crown.
Heart shaped leaves gently fluttered
A queen’s demeanor, nectar of delight.

 

Night has sprinkled her tear drops few.
Quivering on the petals, the lovely dew
gently showers on my feather touch
Gone are the pearls, to my deep regret.

 

Curiosity took me for a walk
to discover more beauties in my path.
Finding none to match, I soon returned
Only to find my flower gone!

 

Why did I stray, where did she go?
Her glittery dust covers the ground.
Eaten by a goat or plucked by a hand
A mystery – here no souls abound.

 

A creation of my deprived imagination or
a mental masterpiece to fill a visual vacuum.
In these deep woods, I somehow know
she bloomed the other day for my eyes alone!

13 thoughts on “The vanishing flower

  1. Very lovely poem! Your expressive words paint a lovely picture of something you embrace, though only for a moment that will live on through eternity. You are truly blessed! Best wishes in your poetic journey.

    Like

  2. “Kissed by butterflies with kohl-rimmed eyes,
    she stops my tracks as I stray
    into these woods for a breath of life
    Charming my soul with her divine play”
    I could read this verse a hundred times.
    Beautiful…

    Like

Your thoughts matter to me! Leave them here

