Moonsong


Moon song

Softly, softly let me glide
over the streams of dreamy starlight.
A hushed whisper amidst the navy-blue
the tiny stars are fast asleep
under the fluff of tender clouds
said the moon to herself tonight.

Beautiful are the sleepy smiles
still twinkling with the sun’s borrowed flames
Let Mother Earth recline in floral vines
I will be her humble sentinel for tonight.
Look ! how lovely the riverside is!
The tree- arms spread to touch my shadow
The songbirds are cuddling in their nests
murmuring sweeter notes of lullabies tonight.

Tonight the sky beckons me to glow
to brighten the hearts of those in gloom
Some who cannot switch off harsh lights
Some who fear closing their eyes
For them I will burn tonight
all their worries in my pale bonfire
Gently melting away their frozen tears
blessing their spirits with cool moonlight.

If you be one amongst that lonely crowd
Come near the ledge, I will be waiting for you
To soothe the wrongs slashing at your heart
Bathing you in the balm of night’s heavenly love.
Let me share your troubles ,they will fade with me
A bright sun waits, heralding a future bright.

4 thoughts on “Moonsong

  1. The moon and the inspirations coming with her light … how well you’ve captured it here!

    Beautiful are the sleepy smiles
    still twinkling with the sun’s borrowed flames … I like these lines very much!

    Like

Your thoughts matter to me! Leave them here

