Emily Dickinson’s lost Dog


 

 

Emily Dickinson’s lost Dog ( My thoughts on reading an Essay)

 

 
Among the dried autumn leaves
lies the grave of a master poet
Why are they still in pursuit of the dog?
Let the poor thing too rest in peace.

Seasons and landscapes change
as do people and tastes
A classic poem can endure all
Including autopsies on its soul.

Did the poet write of a lover
or was the lover a poet
Was Dandelion a dress or a weed?
Dissecting her poems like guinea pigs.

She laughs in her grave, an enigmatic poet
Edited into posthumous sanity today
Richly bound her books-a collector’s item
Her poems-masterpieces, they say.

Why must a poet rationalise her thoughts
She pities them now she is dead and done
tolerating their earnestness to master her tone
Yet won’t they ever leave her poor dog alone?

So I thought once, yet now I think
when you and I are under those leaves
I’ll not be sad if they maul our tender words
but rather glad that they read it at least.

©Reena Prasad

 

6 thoughts on “Emily Dickinson’s lost Dog

  1. I’ve always found this subject fascinating. I chuckle to think how some of my poems might be “analyzed”. But, like you say in your poem, it would be nice to know they were thought to be worth analyzing!

    Like

  2. Very well done! Love the light tone and that point at the end all of us I think can realate to: “I’ll not be sad if they maul our tender words
    but rather glad that they read it at least.”

    Like

  3. There were a lot of good lines in this, but my favorite are: “A classic poem can endure all /
    Including autopsies on its soul.” So true! I love Emily Dickinson’s poetry. 🙂 You do her honor here.

    Like

Your thoughts matter to me! Leave them here

