Afternoon


A deserted afternoon
A fading bench
The calm river sparkling
A mildly inquisitive breeze
Some sheets of paper
and me

The river waits
patiently
as I read a few lines,
pause,

look far across
the brilliant blue
then at the warm sand
near my bare feet
at a gull’s antics.

feeling the words
How they caress
hug and stroke
Then leaving them to grow
within
I move gently on….

to yet another rich shore
Absorbing, living
those timeless words
copied down in a
silent, quasi-serene moment
akin to now
From an older soul
onto these fluttering sheets
I hold

Thoughts carried over
from a moment in time.
©Reena Prasad

Published in Brian Wrixon’s “A poet’s view of being” Released on 16th Oct 2012

4 thoughts on “Afternoon

  1. ” I move gently on
    To yet another rich shore
    Absorbing, living
    those timeless words
    copied down in a
    silent,
    quasi-serene moment
    Akin to now
    From an older soul
    onto these fluttering sheets
    I hold”….Wow !! Reena, those lines are just too beautiful. Your feeling of connection to the universal soul, comes out so strongly there and reading it, makes us feel connected to the source too.

    Like

  2. Nice work Reena! I also wanted to thank you for the follow! Please be aware that my blog is a bilingual one. So you may get links to some poems in English as well as to some in Italian… Pictures, on the other hand, have no language barriers 😉
    Keep up the good work.
    Anna

    Like

Your thoughts matter to me! Leave them here

