Moonlight


 

A little path leads

 beyond the shadows of tall trees

 where drenched in moonlight, you wait for me

 leaning your back against the hard bark

 and I blend silently into the shadows that pray

 for the moon to gently wane

 so that you see not me, my dearest love

 as I bask in the love that lights up your eyes

 Wait for me, my eager heart

 for though you may leave like the truant breeze

 let me savour this moment sweet

 drag it as long as the clouds linger

 shielding the jealous moonlight

 from falling upon love’s first sight.

©Reena Prasad. May 2012

Your thoughts matter to me! Leave them here

