A sack full of stones


I rescued a stone from a flowing river

 wiped it dry and brought it home

 -an ordinary stone

 

 

It lay on my window sill

 still, uncomplaining

 

but when the rains came, I got a fright

I heard it croon to itself, one moonless night

 

“I loved the river

I love her still

for her I jumped off

the evergreen hill

She caressed me

healed my wound

made me perfect

smooth and round

and when I thought

we would never part

I find myself plucked

and now languish on this concrete sill”

 

and before I knew what to do

the stone crumpled into grey debris!

 

 Shocked by the events

 I stopped in my tracks

 Never could I imagine

 the intricacies of a fall,

 the depth of a stone’s love

 and that of my sin.

 

 All said, the mad woman returned to her task

 collecting stones from around the town in her brown sack

 Every evening, she sat by the river

 and tossed them in one after the other.

©Reena Prasad

Your thoughts matter to me! Leave them here

