At the water’s edge


He sits on the grass watching me
like I watch him
I know he is thirsty
And I remember the Snake
and sit even more still
not wanting to repeat a mistake
His reddish throat moves as he tries to decipher
my intentions
He darts a final look at me
My eyes too are transfixed
in my eagerness to see him drink
The water lies still, reflecting
the overhead leaves
He turns around suddenly
dashing back into the shadows
and I sit lamely near the water
watching him go
How little I know!

©Reena Prasad 18th Sept 2012

Your thoughts matter to me! Leave them here

