Eye my soul


You look straight at me
through me, stranger
Your gaze steady
shoulders relaxed
planning the moment
when our eyes meet

I start from the fringes
noting your stance
the elongated half moons
in your finger nails
the firm tips
deliberately slow for
a moment is new only once
knowing what I find is what
I will always keep

Though your gaze remains resolute, mine waver
as though you are in my space
though they look at me
across several seas

When you look so intensely, stranger
do you know?
You lay bare the night
within your soul too
©Reena Prasad 7th July 2013

5 thoughts on “Eye my soul

Your thoughts matter to me! Leave them here

