Driftwood dreams


driftwood
Angel of the Shores, Driftwood Sculptures by Debra Bernier,

Eyesore on white sands
I caught your eye
black rot,  lifeless
hurled ashore
by the night gone by

Birdlime me
I blossomed as you carved
Pell-mell on clavicles
of gleaming brown fell
the unruly curls you teased

Madonna of the dead tree
A thousand eyes feasted on me
but you conquered my last limb
and I set you free

Rapturous slopes wait
your slender fingers beg to carve
the tide has brought in
fresh outcasts

My mounds,
too insentient for you to mount
have made me a queen
I am Helen to termite swarms
a brown wreck
of a green past
dreaming of a breath on me

©Reena Prasad

One thought on “Driftwood dreams

Your thoughts matter to me! Leave them here

