A picture tempted me to write a few words. A Photograph by Anna Vauclare. Thank you Shyam  for the prompt and the offer of chocolate 🙂


Perhaps a fall isn’t bad at all

There I lay in the sun losing my peeling paint
to the elements

He came plodding across the woods,
a dried branch in his hand
looking across the stream
to the village where he had found a dream

It will soon be twilight
Once I used to rush past the green
into the reddish orange beginnings of night

Today I am still but he will shuffle across
bridging the gap between youth’s will
and age’s wisdom
This night too shall pass
©Reena Prasad

2 thoughts on “Bridging a fall

Your thoughts matter to me! Leave them here

