When you left


The malayali moon

When you left
several pages fluttered past unread
the book went missing

I stuck the breeze in a scrapbook
buried the dawn in a garden nook
packed spring into boxes labeled fragile
but could never make space for the too-bright moon
so I threw her out into the night
to keep an eye on what I could not

There she swings tonight
caught on a cloudy peg
and I find the scrap book again
to show her how good we once looked together
but she retreated into her shadows
putting out the light, leaving me and the night
listening to an unfinished melody
knowing a sepia copy
is all that I have to show her

©Reena Prasad
Your thoughts matter to me! Leave them here

