The house


Photo Credits: Internet Click Pic for link
Photo Credits: Internet Click Pic for link
The house

The street was a riot of pink
heavy with bougainvillea everywhere
sighing over creamy yellow walls
their dead strewn on lawns and over a grey Lambretta
heavy in my memories with a bulge in its metal tummy
containing an oil skin packet behind a tiny door
On week days, it would come to life
after a few well directed kicks
and carry away the last of the talking doors

Sitting on the green gate
I would wait
until the dust settled back on the road
and the roar turned the corner
and then turn back
to watch a bird soar
unfurling its wings till it
gathered the house into its shadows

©Reena Prasad

9 thoughts on “The house

  1. I just lately came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my initial comment. I do not know what to say except that I have liked reading. Excellent blog. I will keep viewing this blog truly usually.

    Like

Your thoughts matter to me! Leave them here

