The wetness of sand on soul


sharjah beach 2

We walk over the smooth surface
The wetness cools my vehemence

Since you have wandered on, I find
a black twig to etch the cosmic coconut sliver
the black bird wings, the serrated palm fronds
and before long, the horizon seems to be laid
on the shore
Back from your walk
you point out a crab in its hole
and I realize my creation is just as invisible as me

The dampness sticks making me gruff
To keep the feel, I will wash
only the folded frayed ends of my jeans
and walk away from this moment
filling it up with other wet things
so that you won’t feel the need to know
where the vacant imprint really is
©Reena Prasad

Your thoughts matter to me! Leave them here

