NaPoWriMo 23 If Only I Could


NaPoWriMo 23

If only I could sleep at night

There is an image in my heart
a book that superimposes upon my dreams
A man waits under a tree
in the dark, in the rain

There are no trees outside
The night’s too dark for a man to be seen
and ages since it last rained

Despite the dearth, the image persists
leading me on with this intrigue
what if the book is about us
and he waits
only for me to turn the leaf?

If only I could sleep at night
and read the page where we meet
©Reena Prasad

Your thoughts matter to me! Leave them here

