Paper Dream


I woke up to find my poems
splashed across the newspaper
The forest ones spreading along the sides
the ocean ones grabbing the centre spot
The bird ones preening themselves
perched on bold headlines
their imagery running wild
From their paper pedestals they smiled at me
like long lost friends
telling me
they made it on their own
I smiled back; relishing their childish glee
my eyes running down and under
When I reached the bottom line
the sun vanished again
“By E. D” said the credits
an old diary, an abandoned house
a lame old story
I woke up but my poems still sleep.
©Reena Prasad

Your thoughts matter to me! Leave them here

