Message: If You follow Me…


IMG_4789
Message: If You Follow Me..

I will walk through the maze of your madness
and over the marsh of your mediocrity
and fly over your territories
so vast that no one remembers their boundaries
trying not to notice the unexpected gloom
that creeps upon me when your garden grows nights
and try to leave unhurt, untouched
keeping my own light undimmed
What will you do?

My garden unlike yours
is a coffee cup untouched
hidden from view by the bedstead
I am scared to lift the edges of the cover
or even to dangle my foot over
and face the monster
feeding on the empty bottles I throw

The pigeon paces the ledge
muttering, circling and gutturally impatient
His vision
of the bajra, pouring from a bottle
one in each peck, reaching his gut, filling his vacuum
silences him for a while; a memory of being fed

Silence demands food, jaws move
making their own conversations
filling a need to say and to be heard
while the flab settles comfortably on the bones
bogging their enthusiasm to get going on the run
for there is nowhere really to go
so the flab demands to be fed again
and in the middle of doing nothing
and seemingly everything
your message seems a troll, excuse me
I am laughing now

I will follow you, it said
if you follow me
©Reenaprasad

Your thoughts matter to me! Leave them here

