SAD


inner-child-adult-baby-hands-2-14

How long do I have
to let you know I too care
have always done
before you leave me
and I am left with mere images?

A sudden winter nips my insides
I long desperately for your lap
for the feel of arms around me
You who can lift me up
throw and catch me mid-air,
show me rainbows in puddles
and processions in the clouds
just by being there,
in a phone call, in a thought,
in an unspoken wish
not near but yet not so far
sharing the same earth and air
and the similar salt raining in our care

The cold muscles in
a little more every year
How long do I have
before you go
leaving everything to me
and I become an iceberg
collecting memories to beat the chill?
©Reenaprasad

2 thoughts on “SAD

Your thoughts matter to me! Leave them here

