NaPoWriMo 1 : April


Salalah, Oman ©Reenaprasad
Salalah, Oman©Reenaprasad

April

 

Leave me April, to my own pace
I desire eternities ‘to stand and stare’
You march on mindful of the changes in plumage
I am content to watch you sweetly undress

Under the barren browns that crackle and creak
there is lusty life waiting to be found
An earth in a bursting bodice of green
waiting for a caress from monsoon’s wet lips

Such is the poetry that lies in me, April
never content with the thirty days you prescribe
It is my own monsoon that I wait for
bringing me up through the cracks in my skin

We are two different worlds, me and you
Though our flowers sometimes blush in tandem
Never do I fall into the error of imagining we are similar
You wear a weather watch, I simply weather the times

© Reena Prasad

Your thoughts matter to me! Leave them here

