NaPoWriMo 10: Where would you like the wind to take you?


DSC06713
Photo ©Reenaprasad

Where would you like the wind to take you?

I never want to leave
leaving you under the sand
(What can the rain do for me?
Bring you back as petrichor?)

fervently wanting to believe
the small kerchief alone
would be ravaged by time

with burning feet I walk
relishing the heat
trying not to scatter sand
over your cherubic sleep
though under careless footfalls
you might lie

the sun miraculously
mining sweat from tears
trying to worm its way
to a frozen slab
I hide in my heart
dreamlessly cradled
shielded from every rain
except that of love
and cloudbursts of remembrances
forever doomed to extreme youth

Don’t take me, wind
ever away from this place
A baby must never be left alone
©Reena Prasad

Your thoughts matter to me! Leave them here

